Return to JournalSeek Home

Genamics JournalSeek

Singapore Academy of Law Journal
Singapore Acad Law J

ISSN: 0218-2009.

Published twice a year since 1989, the Singapore Academy of Law Journal contains articles relating to Singapore law as well as Asia-Pacific and common law legal systems and comparative and international law. Articles are anonymously reviewed by a panel of local and international legal scholars and practitioners. Contributors include Singaporean and foreign judges, lawyers, legal officers and academics. As one of the leading law journals in Singapore, the Journal enjoys a high degree of respect. In Public Prosecutor v Manogaran s/o R Ramu [1997] 1 SLR 22, the first local decision to consider and apply the doctrine of prospective overruling, the Court of Appeal cited Daniel Seng Kiat Boon's article “Of Retrospective Criminal Laws and Prospective Overruling: Revisiting Public Prosecutor v Tan Meng Khin & 24 Ors” (1996) 8 SAcLJ 1. “Restraining a Call on a Performance Bond: Should ‘Fraud or Unconscionability’ be the New Orthodoxy?” (2000) 12 SAcLJ 162 by Adrian S P Wong was referred to by the High Court in Eltraco International Pte Ltd v CGH Development Pte Ltd [2000] 3 SLR 177. An article by Paul Quan Kai Shiuh, “Detention During the President’s Pleasure: A Foregone Sentence for a Young Person Convicted of Murder?” (2004) 16 SAcLJ 192, was highlighted in The Straits Times of 10 August 2004. Since 1994 each volume contains, among other articles, the text of the Singapore Academy of Law Annual Lecture. The inaugural lecture was delivered by Lord Taylor of Gosforth, then Lord Chief Justice of England and Wales. Other speakers have included Sir Anthony Mason and Sir Gerard Brennan, both former Chief Justices of the High Court of Australia; Beverley McLachlin, the Chief Justice of Canada; Xiao Yang, the Chief Justice and President of the Supreme People's Court of the People's Republic of China; T L Yang, former Chief Justice of Hong Kong; Lord Bingham of Cornhill, Senior Law Lord and former Lord Chief Justice of England and Wales; Lord Irvine of Lairg, former Lord High Chancellor of Great Britain; and Sandra Day O’Connor, United States Supreme Court Judge.

   Further information
   Category Link

Add To Favorites
Email This Page

Side Panel
Privacy Policy About Us Contact Us